Tennessee Valley Authority

The Tennessee Valley Authority Bluegrass band was founded in 1972 by Hank Harrison and his brothers Jeff and Scott. Over the years the band has won numerous awards including the prestigious National Bluegrass Band Championship in Louisville, Kentucky. The band has performed with Bill Monroe, Johnny Gimble, Flaco Jimenez and Junior Brown. The TVA toured with Peter Rowan, Jerry Douglas, Uncle Josh Graves and Kenny Baker. They have opened for Michael Martin Murphy, the Country Gazette, Tony Trischka, Hot Rize, Tony Rice, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Del McCoury, Kitty Wells, Ralph Stanley and the Dixie Chicks.

The TVA was part of the WOAI Country Jubilee radio show with Riders In The Sky, Asleep at the Wheel, Tammy Wynette and The Whites among others. In addition, the TVA has played many Bluegrass and acoustic music festivals and performed at a Christmas Pops concert with the San Antonio Symphony.

In 2007 the Tennessee Valley Authority celebrated its 35th anniversary. Hank Harrison has enthusiastically kept this band churning out some of the best Bluegrass music around. A hard driving traditional band, the TVA is also known for their ability to take non-Bluegrass songs and deliver them in the Bluegrass style.